Biophysical Society Newsletter | June 2017

Newsletter JUNE 2017


2017 Election Opens Voting in the 2017 Society elections began on June 1. The 2017 slate includes two candidates for President-Elect: David Millar of Scripps Research Institute and David Piston of the University of Washington, St. Louis. The President-Elect will serve a one-year term, beginning February 2018, followed by a year as President, starting February 2019. This year there are eight candidates for Council, shown below. The four members who receive the most votes will serve a three-year term on Council beginning February 17, 2018.

Meetings 2017 Emerging Concepts in Ion Channel Biophysics October 10–13 Mexico City, Mexico June 23 Early Registration Meetings 2018 62nd Annual Meeting Biophysical Society February 17-21 July 1, 2017 Abstract Submission

David Millar Scripps Research Institute

David Piston University of Washington, St. Louis

Full biographical sketches and candidate statements are available at All regular Society members with 2017 dues paid by May 31, 2017, are eligible to vote. Eligible members may vote electronically until August 1, 2017, through the secure site found at

Linda Columbus University of Virginia

A. Keith Dunker Indiana University

António Guia AVIVA Biosciences Corporation

Dagmar Klostermeier University of Munster

Ramón Latorre Universidad of Valparaíso, Chile

Jennifer Ross University of Massachusetts, Amherst

David Stokes New York University School of Medicine

Pernilla Wittung-Stafshede Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden


16 17 17 17 18 19 20

Molly Cule

2 4 6 7

Biophysicist in Profile

Student Chapters

Public Affairs

Members in the News

By the Numbers

Biophysical Society

Student Center

International Affairs Career Development Biophysical Journal

Summer Research Program

10 11 12 15

Call for 2019 Thematic Meetings

Upcoming Events


Grants and Opportunities

Made with