Biophysical Society Newsletter | November 2017

Newsletter NOVEMBER 2017


2018 Society Fellows Named

62 nd BPS Annual Meeting February 17–21, 2018 January 15, 2018 Early Registration and Late Abstract Submission 2018–2019 Congressional Fellowship December 15, 2017 Applications Biophysics Week 2018 March 12–16, 2018 January 15, 2018 Affiliate Event Registration #MyBiophysics Video Submission

The Biophysical Society has selected eight 2018 Fellows. The award recognizes Society members who have demonstrated sustained excellence in science and have contributed to the expansion of the field of biophysics. The awards will be presented on Monday, February 19, during the Awards Ceremony at the Biophysical Society’s Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

Patricia Bassereau , Institut Curie Research Centre, France, for her important experimental contributions to understand the physics of biomembranes using reconstituted systems. James Bowie , University of California, Los Angeles, for his seminal contributions to our un- derstanding of the folding and stability of membrane proteins Astrid Graslund , Stockholm University, Sweden, for her pioneering studies of chemical biology ribonucleotide reductase radicals in DNA and bioac- tive peptides, and as a tireless advocate of promoting novel biophysical studies. Roderick Mackinnon , Rockefeller University, for his transforma- tive impact on understanding ion channel structure and function.

Sheena Radford , University of Leeds, United Kingdom, for her leadership in protein biophysics, revealing fine details about pro- tein folding and misfolding both in vitro, and in diseased states. H. Lee Sweeney , University of Florida, for his crucial contribu- tions toward the biophysical understanding of myosin and muscular dystrophy and for translating these discoveries into practical therapies. Sriram Subramaniam , National Cancer Institute, National Insti- tutes of Health, for his seminal contributions to the cryo-EM field and related disciplines in- cluding electron tomography and focused ion beam imaging. Harel Weinstein , Weill Cornell Medical College, for his sig- nificant contributions to the biophysics of G-protein coupled receptors, neurotransmitter trans- porters, and membrane dynamics.


2 4 5 6 8 9

16 16 17 17 17 18 19 20

Biophysicist in Profile

Molly Cule

Public Affairs Publications

Members in the News From the BPS Blog Grants and Opportunites

Of Science and Stability

Biophysical Society

Thematic Meeting

Student Center

2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry


10 12

Annual Meeting Subgroup Saturday


Upcoming Events

Made with FlippingBook Online newsletter