Biophysical Society Newsletter - October 2014

Newsletter OCTOBER 2014


Seven Society Members Named 2015 Awardees The Biophysical Society is proud to announce

Congressional Fellowship Application October 14 Application Submission Networking Event Proposals October 30

Meyer Jackson , University of Wisconsin, will be honored with the Emily M. Gray Award for his mentorship, undergraduate classroom activities, leadership in graduate education, and his book, Molecular and Cellular Biophysics , which fills a critical gap in educational materials.

the recipients of the seven 2015 Society awards. These members will be honored at the Society's 59 th Annual Meeting in Baltimore, Maryland in February.

Anthony Watts , University of Oxford, will receive the Anatrace Membrane Protein Award for his innovative development of spectroscopic methodologies, which has

59 th Annual Meeting

Harold Scheraga , Cornell University, will receive the Founders Award for his

February 7-11, 2015 Baltimore, Maryland

monumental and continuing contributions, both theoretical and experimental, to the biophysics of protein structure and folding.

provided novel insights into membrane protein structure and function. Gerald Feigenson , Cornell University, will be presented with the Avanti Award in Lipids for his many publications, been cited profusely, with an aggregate number of more than 5,000 citations. Kamal Shukla , NSF, will be awarded the Distinguished Service Award for his tireless efforts in promoting research at the interface between the biological and physical sciences and exceptional leadership in uniting scientists from across many Directorates at NSF. which have had a major impact on the field of lipids and have

December 5 Student Housing January 7 Early Registration Late Abstract Submission Luncheon Registration January 22 Hotel Room Block Reservation Child Care Pre-registration January 30 Undergraduate Mixer and Poster Fest Registration

Sarah Teichmann , EMBL-EBI, will be awarded the Michael and Kate Bárány Award for Young Investigators for her fundamen- tal insights into protein biophys- ics, specifically in the field of Antonina Roll-Mecak , NINDS, NHLBI, NIH, will be presented with the Margaret Oakley Day- hoff Award for her work as a first-rate crystallographer, possessing a broad base of

protein complexes and gene regulation.

talents in protein chemistry and cell biology. The 2015 Society Fellows will be announced in the November newsletter.


2 4 5 6 8

10 10 11

Biophysicist in Profile Biophysical Journal Thematic Meetings

Grants and Opps

Members in the News

Biophysical Society



Annual Meeting

Upcoming Events

Public Affairs

Made with